World of McIntosh - now on Amazon

having never opened one, i cannot comment....but for my money, i'd much rather have one that was personally transported home by me, than have the packing job tested by the mouth-breathers at UPS. even if arrives and appears to work - how much of the longevity of the product is lost every time it's shoved off a truck.
I agree, I'm just saying that I have experience with the factory boxes and they're made for McIntosh. I've never read of piece of equipment shipped in one arriving at it's destination with broken glass.

it's true - i'm a computer consultant, and every so often i poke a client in the eye - just to show them who's boss.

seriously though - its the corporate mentality that's responsible. gone are the mom and pop businesses, all driven off by starbucks or walmart, mc dicks, etc. everyone gets paid minimum wage so there's no pride or care in their work....they know they can get another job for 8 bucks an hour from a different ass who doesn't care about his customers or his employees. the corporation has all kinds of experts figuring out how to cut corners, make a little extra - the sole motivation is profit....they squeeze you just as much as they can without breaking any laws (and they lobby those laws)....no one gives a damn about making the best burger, tshirt or whatever, it's all about profit.

of course, there are some exceptions...i'm speaking generally....but guard your eyes folks

I agree, I'm just saying that I have experience with the factory boxes and they're made for McIntosh. I've never read of piece of equipment shipped in one arriving at it's destination with broken glass.

i once had a tv delivered that was strapped to a palette - that made it, but i didn't have a choice...if i could have gone to get it, i would have...it was also shipped fedex freight - the guy showed up with a big rig, and my friend and i had to unload it. fun times.