Search results

1. R

Differences in D100 vs. D150?

Apologies as I imagine this has been hashed out at some point, but its always good to get fresh perspectives. I've been using a D100 as a DAC and preamp for a few years now and considering potential changes. Is the D150 an identical product that adds DSD, or does it have other revisions? I...
  2. R

Ken Rockwell's guide to photographing an MC240

http://www.kenrockwell.com/tech/00-new-today.htm Interesting read on his experiences photographing an MC240 properly. Figured some might enjoy. Scroll down about a page to get to the section on the amp.
  3. R

Cartridge for a VPI Classic?

If all goes well I'll be picking up a used VPI Classic tomorrow (:banana:), and the two cartridges I have I could potentially mount on it are a Grado 8MZ or an Audio Technica OC9/ii. I'm curious if anybody has any insights as to these pairings. Note that while I might be perfectly satisfied...
  4. R

Wu Tang Forever 4x LP

I enjoy a little hip hop from time to time, but generally avoid it on vinyl as what albums I do own are the worst pressed albums I have by far. This fact almost led me to pass on the new reissue of the Wu Tang Clan's magnum Opus, and I'm glad I didn't, and wanted to make sure anybody on the...
  5. R

So which gear will you be trading in, and for what?

http://www.mcintoshlabs.com/us/Brand/Pages/NewsDetails.aspx?NewsID=137&Block=1 :banana::banana::banana::banana::banana::banana::banana:
  6. R

Emotiva XPS-1: the next great budget phono stage?

I've always been a fan of Emotiva, and have owned a few of their products over the years. Checking their website a couple of days before Christmas I noticed they'd come out with the XPS-1 phono stage, which is the stand-alone version of the phono stage from their reference stereo preamp. It...
  7. R

Which speaker taps should I use?