Search results

1. leicamaster

Digital Fatigue?

digital source can sound too bright on a lot of older gear -- at least my experience. that ends up being fatiguing.
  2. leicamaster

78 playback

I'm interested in this possibility, but am a bit confused by its execution-- this is my first time doing something like this. Would I plug the 78 turntable into the phono on the bogen then have the tape out from the bogen plugged into a naim input? Would any 8 ohm, 20w resistor work? Would I...
  3. leicamaster

Bogen DB130 Grounding

Dug out a spare TT. It was indeed an issue with the garrard and grounding -- the other tt has no hum. grounded with a screw on the side of the amp.
  4. leicamaster

78 playback

I think the biggest conflict I've faced in the whole 78 endeavor is whether to have it set up as a separate system or to feed it all through my primary Linn/Naim setup. I guess i've opted for the separate route now that I found this tube amp w/ eq.
  5. leicamaster

Bogen DB130 Grounding

What do you mean by shorting it? Sorry, I'm a bit new to this. When I do turn to the phono input without the TT, there is no hum present. The other channels are also clean. The amp had some recapping and work done it before I got it, but I haven't owned an amp this old before.
  6. leicamaster

Bogen DB130 Grounding

seems like it's a turntable issue. I got this garrard free someone. the wiring looks a little shoddy.
  7. leicamaster

Bogen DB130 Grounding

I just got a Bogen DB130. I'm curious about where to connect the ground wire for the turntable when there is no ground for the phono stage. I read at some point in a thread that you just connect it to a metal part of the amp? However, I'm still experiencing hum.
  8. leicamaster

78 playback

Haha I think you're right. My decision right now is mostly about whether to take my chances with the AT vs wait for a Lenco. In the meantime, I can spin them on a cheap Garrard changer I picked up for free on CL.
  9. leicamaster