Search results

1. Trower

I Got To See/Hear a U Turn Table Today

Just a few of my thoughts... I love my AR XAs, and I have a U-Turn I bought way back off Kickstarter. I was quite disappointed in the plasticy TT at first, but I threw my nuded Grado retipped by soundsmith on it and HOLY CRAP! It shocked me! Sounded almost as good as my stock armed XA!! I am...
  2. Trower

Aluminum pulley machining

I am a machinist and like said, you would have to pay for setup and design. The other factor is if a standard grooving insert will cut the grove you want, if one won't you'd probably have to have the profile of the grove cut with a cnc lathe, which would require a bit more setup time and most...
  3. Trower

David Bowie Rawks.....

Still can't get over this! Monday KEXP (a favorite radio station of mine) played his music all day, and they just had last Friday as well in honor of his birthday and album release. Was a nice way to honor his memory. The new album blew me away, and now knowing he recorded it, knowing he had...
  4. Trower

Sony PS-X7 Cartridge Recomendations

The lpgear.com AT95VL is 100 and has a line contact diamond. Very very nice cart for the money! I would go with that, the 95e is excellent but the VL will be a bit more detailed and quieter in the grove. I would say it's well worth the 50 dollars over the standard 95e.
  5. Trower

Unopened vinyl from dacades past

Haha, very true! Ellington Indigos is one of my all time favorite albums! That would be hard to top in my book as well!! Mono or stereo? I love the 6 eye stereo pressings I have, really well recorded and mastered.
  6. Trower

Unopened vinyl from dacades past

I opened a Blue Note "Night of the cookers", Hubbard sounded very good;-)
  7. Trower

Which to keep and restore?