Search results

1. N

Question of profit or keeping analog going

As on Nov. 18, 2014 all sellers have to provide a 6 month no questions asked return policy if the buyer claims the item sold is "not as described" and paid with Paypal. Well, what is "not as described" mean? Seller forgot to mention a tiny scratch on the bottom of the deck? Who gets to decide...
  2. N

Question of profit or keeping analog going

I have been buying reel to reel decks on ebay for many years that are DOA or have other problems and completely rebuilding them to sell for a meager profit to justify my time and parts I invest in these decks. I mainly do it for the love of analog and the joy of taking someone's trash and...
  3. N

What happened to my tape?

Obviously the tape died in the four days you were using it. Once the oxide flakes off, that's the end of the tape. There's no way to resurect it. The binder that was used to hold the oxide to the backing has disintegrated because it was un-spooled while playing it, thus flexing the backing of...
  4. N

External Switch?

Whatever you do, don't buy an electronic switcher. There are some switchers that use relays, so stay away from them as well. Sometimes engineers think of the most complicated way to accomplish the simplest of tasks. Use a mechanical switcher which doesn't add anything to the input signal...
  5. N

Troubleshooting hum in Conrad Johnson PV10A

It sounds like you may have a classic ground loop induced hum. I suspect there may be two separate problems. One is the hum in the preamp and two is the hum created by one of your power amps. The way to trace the problem is to not changes two or three at one time. The first step is to plug in...
  6. N

St70 mod identification please.