Search results

1. asdf_x2

I think I've lost it

Hi, I've been on a cartridge/stylus buying binge lately: Carts: Signet TK5E Technics EPC-U205C MK3 AKG P25MD/35 NOS styli: Audio Technica: ATVM8, ATS12, ATS12S, ATN12S, 2x ATN15, 3x ATN14, 3x ATS13E (for transplanting) AKG: 2x X25/24mkII styli, X15S Have i gone crazy? Any known cure for this...
  2. asdf_x2

Yamaha CD-S1000

I recently bought a second hand Yamaha CD-S1000 SACD player. I'm new to this level of hifi equipment and bought this one for all the wrong reasons: it matches my amp Yamaha CA-1000 visually and by name, it weighs 15kg and seemed to have gotten mostly good reviews. I of course tested it at the...
  3. asdf_x2

Link to Yamaha Integrated Amplifier History (Since 1972)

I wish i could be posting the part about B-1 but for now the CA-1000 will do: A true audiophile amplifier including a Class A/B operation selector, all enclosed in a beautiful form. Yamaha released the CA-700/500 and entered the component stereo market in 1972, and the next year began a...
  4. asdf_x2

Class A in CA-1000

Is the Class A in CA-1000 (and 800/1010/2010) Real True Class A? I mean does it stay in Class A for it's rated output, which is 15W@8ohm for CA-1000. Some places state that it is real Class A and some regard it as not. It doesn't really matter to me whether it is either or since it sounds...
  5. asdf_x2

My first pre: Denon PRA-1100 or NAD 1000?

Hi, i'm about to purchase my first separate preamp to try. I've been offered Denon PRA-1100 and NAD monitor series 1000 for roughly the same price. Which one would you choose? My impression of NAD is that their reliability isn't as good as Denon's. But it seems that nad's phono section is...
  6. asdf_x2

Technics SL-Q2 - how to add damping fluid?