Search results

1. Neo-Luddite

MC-60 tube replacement?

I had a 6550 blow up yesterday and there's a '27' written on it by the guy who rebuilt them. Each power tube has a different bias number written on it. What do I need to do? I can't imagine bringing the amps back in every time they need a tube?? Thanks much~
  2. Neo-Luddite

Dual 1228: operate arm manually to align headshell?

I want to install a new headshell on my Dual 1228. How do I operate the tone arm manually? Sorry...I'm a total newb. Thanks!
  3. Neo-Luddite

Spotify from ipad into hi-fi?

Forgive me if this is a dumb question. I have Spotify on my iPad and I'd like to play it through my hi-fi. My CD player has a USB port but when I plug the iPad in, it says no support. Thanks much...
  4. Neo-Luddite

Speaker terminals on MC-60s?

I get sound with positive and common...how come not with the negative terminal?...what's the diff? The reason I ask is I have some buzz from my REL subwoofer which is tapped into said terminals. But the REL instructions say +/-...:scratch2: Thanks, Aaron
  5. Neo-Luddite

25ft speaker cables?

Are 25ft speaker cables ridiculous? Anyone using any this lenth on their 'good' system? :scratch2:
  6. Neo-Luddite

Are sub-woofers lame?

I've got some Nola Boxers that sound wonderful but sometimes I think I'm overextending them a bit. The local hi-end shop says to get a sub-woofer. They sell very high-end gear and have REL as a brand. My question is...at what point should I just get a tower? Although I don't like the idea of...
  7. Neo-Luddite

Correct bias tubes for my MC-60s?

I had my McIntosh rebuilt a year ago and I think I fried the 6550 power tubes in one of the amps. My question is: the repair guy had found 6550s with the correct bias and wrote the number on the tube. Can I just get two new tubes and plug them in or should I find some with the right...
  8. Neo-Luddite

MC-60 tube failure?