Search results

1. M

Asking for Help for Using Soldering Iron on Old Printed Circuits

I am ready to replace capacitors on a 1974 solid state integrated amplifier. This is going to be my main amp. Right now, it is working but I also know all of the caps are original. I am not new to soldering at all, but I'm looking for any tips for not burning up the signal traces on these...
  2. M

Onkyo TX-8500 - Where to begin?

I bought this receiver for and it lights up, stations tune in, some dial lamps are out, but it never come out of protection. I'm sure it is all original, so everything is pretty old. I know I'm in a learned crowd here and I'm just a noob, but where do I begin to find out why it never comes...
  3. M

Dead Tuner Lamp TU-5500

I recently got a TU-5500 tuner. Works great, all lamps working except the tuner needle lamp. So I got a stock of replacement lamps from David here on AK, replaced the tuner needle bulb, and it worked! ....for awhile. Now, it is dead again. I substituted with a new lamp. No light. I checked the...
  4. M

Getting Started to Update 5000A

I found a treasure for cheap in a 5000A that is all original with F-6013 driver boards. Everything is original ---all caps, transistors, resistors, etc., even the lamps. One thing I checked is the FM Stereo light is not lighting even though the lamp is good. It plays good in all functions...
  5. M

What happened to my AU-D7?

I pulled out of storage my AU-D7 this morning to plug 'er up and see how she sounded. I haven't played it for about two years but it played great. Now it blew the power fuse! What happened?? It was stored in an even room temp place, no humidity...What the heck happened? I inspected it...
  6. M

Table of Obsolete Diodes and Current Equivalent Diodes