Search results

1. J

Audioquest XLR Interconnects for Mic Use

It is, but there are four individual leads. There are four solder points on the XLR connectors(assuming you ground to both points, which there seems to be some discussion about), so I figured it would work fine. And more importantly, I already owned the cable :)
  2. J

Great advice. This weekend I did exactly that. I had about 3 feet of Type 4 cable laying around, and I soldered myself up an interconnect. It's too late for me to really try it out tonight, but it seems like it's just the ticket. The mic signal is slightly hotter, and I notice more treble in...
  3. J

Favorite Fuzz Tones

I've been playing guitar for 17 years, and I still don't know how to define a fuzzbox. Like an overdrive on steroids? Maybe? A pedal that makes it sound like your amp is broken? I think my favourite 'fuzz' pedal was a tube overdrive from Real Tube. It came with a 12AU7, but I messed around...
  4. J

Hi all. I'm wondering if anybody has used these Interconnects for recording mics before. I tried some for a short time, before they went into my system. They sounded a little more full range than my mic cables, but my mic cables are pretty generic. It's possible that the lower impedance was...
  5. J

Should volume into USB dac matter?

In theory, the USB out volume shouldn't matter. It *should* be bit-perfect at all volumes, since it's a digital connection. In practice, try it out a little. I've read(and heard) all sorts of comments about how some players are a little gainy at 100%, and others are fine. I seem to recall the...
  6. J

Hearing difference between speakers?

Honestly, I didn't mention inductance because I don't understand it well enough to explain it to someone else :) But as far as being 98% accurate, I'd point out that we share about 98% of our DNA with most living mammals, so a 2% difference can be a lot. If you've got a signal from 20-20,000 hz...
  7. J

Hearing difference between speakers?