Search results

1. vinylvalet

Oppo Sonica DAC

You use your smart phone or tablet; free Sonica app for OS or Android.
  2. vinylvalet

Oppo Sonica DAC

Yes, you can stream directly with the Sonica. I have no direct experience with your streaming setup but I'm guessing that you would get better sound with the Sonica, especially if you bypass the Peachtree DAC.
  3. vinylvalet

Oppo Sonica DAC

I haven't heard the stock Sonica. I had the dealer ship mine directly to Ric at EVS (tweakaudio.com) for his $700 single ended only mod. It's clearly better than my heavily modified Oppo BDP-105. I listen mostly to LPs on my LP only, vacuum tube main system. I use digital in secondary systems...
  4. vinylvalet

Schematic Links, Tube retail links, local tube testers

I've been using a Transcendent Sound tube tester that I built from a kit about ten years ago. It's been very reliable and versatile. Over the last twenty years I've purchased tubes from most of the vendors listed in this thread. I've had good experiences with one exception: Upscale Audio...
  5. vinylvalet

Where to buy tubes?

Great selection and service from both Jim McShane and Tube Depot.
  6. vinylvalet

Genalex Gold Line 6922 50% Failure Rate for Noise in 400 Hours or Less

A percentage of all new production tubes will have early failure for noise if you don't buy from a dealer that offers some level of break-in and sorting. This extra service usually cost less that an additional $5 per tube and is well worth it. As I state in my AA thread, I previously used the...
  7. vinylvalet

I'm contacting both the US distributor and manufacturer as I stated in my thread over at AA. Regarding other choices. The EH 6922 is much quieter and more reliable for 1/3 the cost. IMHO, the EH doesn't sound as good as the Genalex in my application but it's not bad. It's a good idea to pick...
  8. vinylvalet