Search results

1. S

Tablet for streaming

Hey folks. I'm just getting into 'music subscription services. Right now I'm on a trial with Apple Music and I've got Amazon Prime music. Amazon is the cheap one that is offered to Prime members for free. So I started to think, maybe I could get a $70 Tablet, a Kindle maybe and stream from...
  2. S

WAV files and playing them.

I just purchased a new CD player. The Yamaha CD S300. It has a pretty good DAC and a USB port in front to connect the iPod or a flash drive. Pretty cool feature I think. Unfortunately, it doesn't play FLAC or WAV files. I don't know if It will matter to me because I don't know what I play. I...
  3. S

Hearing a hiss during playback of a CD

Hi folks. I was just getting some solid advice in the Speakers forum and because of all the listening Im doing now, I noticed something. I'm listening to a CD and I keep picking up a hiss during soft or quiet moments in songs. Is this part of CD technology or can I get a better reproduction of...
  4. S

I need help

I'm not happy with my sound system. It is a Sony Str-DE197 receiver and a set of Axiom M3v2 bookshelf speakers, a Yamaha sub and a Sony Blueray DVD player in place of a CD Player. Sometimes I play digital files through a bluetooth adapter. I feel that, to my ears, there is a definite lack of...
  5. S

Currently manufactured Am/FM tuners

There are very few 'new' tuners on the market. Yamah, Pyle, Mcintosh, and NAD. Mcintosh is awful expensive but I'd expect it to be very good. But what about the others? It seems that many choose to go vintage in this area but can anyone really speak for the few on the 'New' component market?
  6. S

Trying to pick the right components