Search results

1. Salbreth1

Tube checker recommendation... Again

So I'm looking for a checker that will do a variety of tubes as well as output matching. I'm fairly new to the tube world but from what iv read Hickok is one of the go to brands. I have a $600 budget and am looking at a calibrated 752A and an 800. Both are transconductance models. The first...
  2. Salbreth1

So I'v crossed over to the dark side... Dynaco ST-70

Hey guys, So someone offered this to me 2 days ago unsure if it worked or not. I've never owned a tube amp or ever really care to but that all changed after I powered it up slow, biased the tubes and gave it a listen. Now I'v been up for 2 days straight fighting the amps mind control powers to...
  3. Salbreth1

Marantz 500 Restoration, Here we go...

Hey guys, Its been a while but I'm starting a build on this guy and thought you might be interested. This unit was running when before I received it, but things are never that easy. When I powered it up there was an immediate smoke storm and it popped the 15 amp fuse. Challenge accepted.
  4. Salbreth1

Marantz 1200 volume issue

Hey guys, So I just finished a 1200b and noticed that I still have audio out of both channels when the volume is at zero. At first i figured a bad pot but out of curiosity I plugged in a 1200 I'm getting ready to start and it has the same problem. Even when the gain switch is on low I have audio...
  5. Salbreth1

Rebuilding 300DC. I love this amp...

I'm starting this guy today and thought I'd share. This is one of my favorites. It sounds so transparent to me. Anyway, let the fun begin!
  6. Salbreth1

1980 Restoration, Diggin in...

Hey guys, I am tearing into this monster and thought i'd share the excitement! This one is in excellent shape and pretty clean inside. I thought I would start with the filters. These cans are huge! I replaced them with some Chemi-con cans that fit perfectly into the extra Clamps I had from a...
  7. Salbreth1

CM Labs CC-50s Rebuild