Search results

1. Stink Bear

tuner / Receiver displays

I'm sitting here looking at displays from some vintage units and considering which are the most pleasing displays. I should start reducing the inventory, and I'm thinking about what can go, a nice display is one consideration. I have in my view: Pioneer SX-939 Sansui Eight Deluxe...
  2. Stink Bear

SX-990, No FM, no signal meter indication

FM just suddenly stopped working on this unit. I've read through other posts with similar issues, I plan to clean switches. Because it was working and then suddenly stopped, I doubt that it's switches. I'm just getting started on this. I checked voltages at the IF amplifiers, they are within 1...
  3. Stink Bear

Bad new transistors

I'm curious about how often techs find new transistors that are bad, and if they test before installing. I recently finished a repair on an integrated amp, I replaced all transistors on the power amp board. One was either bad going in, or went bad shortly after. I don't think I did anything to...
  4. Stink Bear

KA-3500 - trying to find short.............again.............or still.

I put in some time on this amp again this evening, it's been kicking my butt on and off for years. I tried taking a different approach this time. It seems I can leave the unit on indefinitely as long as it's on a dim bulb tester, so I started checking voltage at different points. I start seeing...
  5. Stink Bear

Anyone know of car stereo repair groups / pages.

Hello, I've got an older car stereo that I would like to repair, but will need help. Audiokarma has been a great resource in fixing home stereo gear. I am hoping someone could point me to a resource for car stereo gear. Thank you.
  6. Stink Bear

Kenwood KA-3500