Search results

1. S

Bose 901 Series 2 Mystery

I'm pretty sure the Series I and II are close enough that you can use the same active EQ. I don't have one for reference, but I think if you read the series II instructions it says as much. The series I and II were sealed box, cloth surronds. Bose revamped Series III onwards to be ported with...
  2. S

Tune your system the way live pro sound people do for cheap

Here's a VERY late addition to this thread. First, I'm just an amateur, listen at home to stereo type of guy. Here's a plug for REW (free) and for the Behringer DEQ2496. Although I sold mine because I no longer needed it, consider that this box has been on the market for nearly 20 (!!!) years...
  3. S

Tried out room correction and it sounds.. bad?

I've never tried "real" room correction (the type that attempts to solve reverb and other problems). I HAVE used consumer grade "auto EQ" systems and have not been impressed by the results. At best, you get a rough EQ and you can customize to taste. I'm also dubious of "room correction" since...
  4. S

How much of an audio snob are you!

Sorry for delay. Sure, it is a Pipo X8. This is no longer made, but several later models are very similar in specs and price. They even make a little one with a built in thermal printer for point of sale. Not sure you'd need it for audio, but I guess it'd work :)
  5. S

How much of an audio snob are you!

My system is fully customized: the strong point is a pair of expensive (if they had been new) speakers: Yorkville Unity U15. I got them used, trashed, but good enough to tweak and convert to active. The rest of my system is anti-snob: the "source" is a Windows PC "tv box" only available from...
  6. S

Some people like speakers that sound good better than perfect sounding speakers.

Drummond's comment was relevant: If your speakers still sound good in the next room or down a hall, they are probably good speakers. Also, if your cleaning lady says "those sound good." :biggrin: