Search results

1. The Reverend

does a "tube guy" need a fancy soldering station?

Hmmmm... your tips will last longer if you set to to 650 - 700F. Just saying! :music:
  2. The Reverend

I'm guessing you haven't used a Metcal... :drool:
  3. The Reverend

For anyone else considering a new iron, I would seriously consider the Hakko 936. I am an electrical engineer and chose it over the Weller (our mechanical engineers use the Wellers because they are philistines). It's half the price and works wonderfully. Also, it doesn't have the annoying...
  4. The Reverend

My old friend is back

I have been in the process of moving for the last couple of weeks. The first priority was setting up the stereo- I had to find the space and rearrange the furniture around it for a couple of days before I even did much else (besides unpack the bathroom supplies).
  5. The Reverend

Tell Every One About Your White Van Speaker Storys

Ponderbear, did you or didn't you buy the speakers?
  6. The Reverend

New apartment with old two pronged power outlets

You can, I just saw a bunch at ACE the other day.
  7. The Reverend

Another 12B4 Beginner's Build

Hello, I have a renewed interest in this project after digging up this thread! I was over at diyaudio.com and started to get the itch... Anyway, maybe I will acquire some parts over the summer. I haven't had much cash lately, but I have been working hard (right now- hardly working)...
  8. The Reverend

Let this be your lesson to keep the volume down...

I wonder what the guy was listening to... sheesh!
  9. The Reverend

Good point- I will take it up with her when I officially start my lease. What if she says no? What if she just puts two wire receptacles back on? No one will ever know unless something happens, right? The only three wire receptacle in the apartment that is properly wired is the one in the...
  10. The Reverend