Search results

1. Acespaceman

Keeping secrets... Great under the radar gear.

Is it just me, or does anyone else have a piece of great vintage gear or two that still flies under the radar, and you're afraid to talk it up on the internet because you're worried that everyone will find out about your favorite little unknown gem, and the prices will skyrocket? Seems silly...
  2. Acespaceman

Super Slick Slick Stuff as a Pot cleaner

As a guy who worked as an electronic bench tech for many years... Many years ago... I've cleaned my fair share of dirty pots, and switches. When DeOxit came on the scene, it was just the best thing since sliced bread. It's still an Awesome product that I use regularly. From time to time...
  3. Acespaceman

New to RTR... Different tape, different sound. What to do?

Hi guys, I'm just getting into RTR, and have a couple machines that have been serviced, and are working well. My blank tape inventory consists of a few reels of Realistic SuperTape, a few reels of Scotch 207, and that's it. What I've noticed so far is that the 207 seems to be very...
  4. Acespaceman

Revisiting the Garrard Zero 100... The right cart makes the difference.

A while back I posted a thread about modifiying the tangential arm/bushings for reduced slop in the mechanism. It was a successful project that showed a small, but noticeable improvement in the sound, and a very noticeable improvement in physical slop in the arm. Being the turntable junkie I...
  5. Acespaceman

Eleni Mandell... Baltimore Oriole HELP!

If you've seen the cult classic movie "Destiny Turns on the Radio", you've heard Elani Mandell's version of the Hoagy Charmichael tune "Baltimore Oriole". Lip Synched by the beautiful Nancy Travis. This is IMO simply the best version of the song I've ever heard. Unfortunately I cannot find a...
  6. Acespaceman

You've seen the "Leg Lamp", but get a load of this!