Search results

1. dander

LX-3 question

I bought this machine off Bartertown a couple of years ago. It's been flawless, the prior owner had it overhauled by Perry. Anyhow, as I was playing some tapes that had been gifted to me, I started wondering what the machine cost new. I saw that it had an MSRP of 595 back in the early 80s. Is...
  2. dander

I'm about ready to call it good

Over the last few years I've spent a butt load on vintage equipment and then the restoration. One part that had vexed me is the vinyl side of things. I've tried an Ortofon Bronze, the latest AT95ML, a retipped Grado Sonata. I finally broke down and bought a Lehmann Decade phono stage(used) and a...
  3. dander

Dynavector 20x2L

I'm happy with my retipped grado sonata, but I'm wanting to try something new. I have zero experience with LOMC. My equipment is older restored pioneer stuff. I've got a PL 630, an arcam rphono, spec 1 and spec 4, with some ads 1290's. Would this just be conspicuous consumption, or a worthwhile...
  4. dander

Technics SL 1300 MK1 auto repeating

My question is this. I've got one, new to me, and the auto function seems to work. However, when it starts, the auto repeat knob advances to 1 and unless I reset it to zero it just repeats, the stop lever just restarts play. Should auto repeat adjust from zero to one upon start? I'm assuming...
  5. dander

Pioneer PL-12d and the Q-up

My question is, has anyone used an aftermarket arm lifter only the Pioneer PL-12D? Do the collective minds think it would work? I realize I could just look for the auto return PL-15, but I got this for next to nothing, and with a new belt and some oil, it really sounds nice. Separately, the...
  6. dander

Infinity RS5

General question, would a restored pioneer spec 4 have enough grunt to power these, or is it recipe for magic smoke or clipping?
  7. dander

Aurex cartridges anyone?