Search results

1. surfnsound

Trio AFE-220 Valve Tuner Dial Scale

Hi there, anybody knows how to recreate the dial scale of this Trio? PS: It's a mono tuner, but it has for me by far the best sound I ever heard to another tuner (Leak Stereofetic, Sansui TU-505, Sansui TU-217, ..). I have no other experience with tubes, but this sounds just very very good. Is...
  2. surfnsound

Sansui 6500 Volume/Balance Pot

Hi all, need your help here. I got myself a AU-6500 but its not in good physical shape. The previous owner has exchanged volume and loudness pots, which are working now, but loudness is not working. The soldering job does not look very clean neither. I think I want to replace bother and redo...
  3. surfnsound

Scott A440 pop

Hi, I am running a beautiful Scott A440 amp which has, to my ears, a wonderful vintage sound. I ran it yesterday all day and suddenly while being in the shop I hear a loud "pop pop pop pop" that does not stop, louder then the music that was playing, probably around 4 loud pops per second, I...
  4. surfnsound

Goodmans K2 16 ohm?

Have the chance to pick up a pair of Goodmans K2. Seller says that he put in two new original Goodmans drivers, both 16 Ohm drivers as one of the original drivers was bust. Is the K2 original with 8 or 16 Ohm drivers? If the seller added 16 Ohm drivers would there not be a change in the...
  5. surfnsound

Sony STR-6120 2SD88A matched pair?

The previous owner has replaced two of the end transistors. I think I want to replace all four. So I would need four 2SD88A. As they are not easy to find, another thread proposes MJ21194 as replacement which I find at Mouser. But then again people talk about the "matched pair". What is a...
  6. surfnsound

Sony STR-6120 tuning meter