Search results

1. Doc Friedman

Today's classical playlist

I'm at work, where I don't actually have a lot of music, so I'm listening to some of the auto-rips from CDs I've bought from Amazon. I'm listening to this again -- Esa-Pekka Salonen's Violin Concerto and Nyx -- and trying, again, to decide what I think of it, and how I feel about it. To my mind...
  2. Doc Friedman

When life gets hard, and the universe seems dark, I listen to Bach. His music makes me realize that humans are capable of extraordinary things and, for a few moments I can almost believe in the possibility of perfection.
  3. Doc Friedman

I have loved The Art of Fugue ever since my dad came home with the Marriner/ASMF boxed set 40 years ago. I have more versions of this piece than any other work -- although the Goldberg Variations comes close -- 14 at last count. I have no favourite although, as a pianist, I do come back to this...
  4. Doc Friedman

I love Menuhin's reading of Bartok's violin concertos. This isn't much of a surprise, since Menuhin was a great champion of the composer's work. I prefer the "second" concerto (the ONLY violin concerto Bartok published in his lifetime), but the "first" has some great melodies and passages, and...
  5. Doc Friedman

I'm in a kind of Schoenbergian headspace today. My spouse teaches at the University of Memphis. I teach at Rutgers University in Newark. That means that we are apart for half the year -- except for a break every few weeks when she come up to visit here, or I visit there. It's a shitty way to...
  6. Doc Friedman

I used to take my dad to I Musici de Montreal concerts. It was to repay him for the many, many years of Orchestre Symphonique de Montreal, and McGill Chamber Orchestra concerts of my youth. He would always buy a series, and we'd go every week -- often twice. My father encouraged my violin...
  7. Doc Friedman