Search results

1. Cajunchuck

Dave at it again in Little Rock

T This guy is still at it? I had to flag this ad twice today. Sheesh get a life.
  2. Cajunchuck

S.M.S.L. SU-9, Impressions After 1 Week

Very possible based upon how it sounded. I am by no means a pro listener but the old D30 easily beat it in my system. In any case, it's going back. The shenanigans by SMSL on the ASR forum left me with a bit of distrust. I would love for them to test one of the "fixed" units.
  3. Cajunchuck

S.M.S.L. SU-9, Impressions After 1 Week

Well my SU-9 is going back. Received it last week and from the initial listen I was a bit underwhelmed. Compared to my old Topping D30 it sounded terrible. Zero soundstage at all. All the sound coming from the middle. Gave it a good try all week but never really impressed me. Just boxed it...
  4. Cajunchuck

Suggestion for Floor Stander under $800

I don't understand JBL and these "sales". Being that the quarterly discounts are now widely known, who would buy a set at full price?
  5. Cajunchuck

Upgrade from Topping D30

Ordered an SMSL SU9 from Amazon last night. Seems to check all the boxes for my needs. Too bad I read about the “issue” after the fact. Hope I receive one of the fixed versions.
  6. Cajunchuck

Upgrade from Topping D30

For some reason the Topping D30 Pro is shouting at me. Since my budget is $500 it may be a decent choice. Any opinions on this one?
  7. Cajunchuck

Upgrade from Topping D30

Thanks for the suggestions! Regarding my system, let me preface this by saying that I am by no means experienced with a large variety of gear. I live in south Louisiana, which I jokingly call an "audio desert". All the hi-fi stores around here went the way of the dodo by the mid-nineties...
  8. Cajunchuck

Upgrade from Topping D30