Search results

1. RayN

MX-1000 and dead meters

I finally, after months of work, revived a thoroughly trashed MX-1k. There weren't a huge amount of dead components but the ones that were dead were spread out and hard to isolate. That combined with having to repair almost all of the amp interconnects because the pads were destroyed, ugh...
  2. RayN

Kappa 9 crossover request

I redid the crossovers on my Kappa 9 a while back. There were a few capacitor discrepancies between the published schematic and what was actually on the board. I've attached a snapshot of what was different. Can some of you K9 owners let me know if you have the same anomalies? The one I'm...
  3. RayN

Advice/help from circuit repair gurus

I'm a novice at electronics repair but I'm learning and enjoying every second. But, I've run into something I don't quite understand and could use some help. I'm working on an old Dokorder 8060 integrated amplifier (solid state SEPP design) and I've got the signal path all cleared up, however...
  4. RayN

3D printed cassette deck spindle "nipples"

These turned out better than I thought. It always bothered me that I was missing one and then a friend came through for me. PXL_20220428_212859568 by RayN posted May 2, 2022 at 7:58 PM PXL_20220428_213544324 by RayN posted May 2, 2022 at 7:58 PM
  5. RayN

MX-1000 blown left channel (help)

I happened upon another MX-1000 I got cheap because it was stuck in protect mode, sadly the left channel is blown. If I pull the left sub-channel card the unit fires up (on a DBT) and operates the right channel as expected. Here’s what I found on the left channel, with changes from reading...
  6. RayN

Dynaco A-50 Repair

I grabbed these speakers in a trade with a fellow enthusiast in my area. If you don't know these speakers the tweeter section in the crossover includes a rotary switch and a bunch of cement resistors for attenuation instead of an L-pad. Well, something happened with these guys that I've never...
  7. RayN