Search results

1. C

Accell Ultra audio speaker cable

Hi. Is this a good speaker wire? I can get a 250' spool (used) for $10. I've been using the same 14 gauge Monster cable for the last 30 years.
  2. C

Old Denon vs New Denon - CD Players

I have a Denon DVD2900 that I have used as my dedicated CD player for the last 25 years. It starting to not play some of my CD's or pausing after a few minutes of playing of other CD's. Is this easily fixable - either by cleaning the laser or replacing it? Or should I bite the bullet and get a...
  3. C

Honegger Complete Symphonies Cycle

Hi. I'm looking to purchase a copy of the Honegger 5 Symphonies (actuality 2 - one on CD and one on vinyl). The 2 most talked about sets are the Baudo with the Czech Philharmonic and the Dutoit with the Bavarian Radio Symphony. I think I want the Baudo on vinyl and the Dutoit on CD (I have...
  4. C

Time to upgrade my turntable?

I'm thinking about getting a new turntable to replace my 4 year old Pro-ject Debut Carbon with an acrylic platter and 2M Blue cartridge (with about 600 hours on it). My budget right now is about $1000 but would consider spending a bit more for right turntable. Currently my system consists of a...
  5. C

Sonny Rollins Tenor Madness - 2011 OJC pressing vs 2009 Hi Horse Records

Would anyone care to comment on these two vinyl pressings as to which sounds better? I can get either from Amazon - $18 for the OJC pressing or $28 for the Hi Horse Records. If what I read was accurate, the OJC pressing was remastered by Kevin Gray at RTI. I can't find anything about Hi Horse...
  6. C

John Coltrane A Love Supreme Acoustic Sounds 33 1/3 vs Analogue Productions 45

Hello. Would anyone care to comment on which version sounds better and if it's worth the price difference? I have a Pro-ject Debut Carbon (with acrylic platter) with an Ortofon 2M Blue Cart. This is going through a Sansui B-2101 200 wpc amp into ADS L1290 speakers. And I'm 61 years old so my...
  7. C