Search results

1. beej

Cart ID Assist

Wondering if I could, once again, tap into the collective (and seemingly inexhaustible) knowledge of my fellow AKers. This cart appears to be an early ADC but I'm not certain). Any thoughts? As always, thanks.
  2. beej

Advice Requested - New Turntable For Novice (13 y/o)

I’ve been asked by extended family who live several states away to recommend a good new starter system for a 13/yo. We should assume total beginner status so probably best to go fully auto for the turntable. I’ve IDed options for the receiver and the speakers so the turntable is next. Like to...
  3. beej

My Shure Me97HE – The Exception That Proves the Rule?

The Shure Me97HE is/was one of Shure’s Encore series intended to reintroduce certain models to the listening public – in this case the highly regarded M97HE Era IV. As best I can determine it was made available in 1989 and was manufactured primarily in Mexico. Although the specs were intended...
  4. beej

Audio Technica AT-VM95e cartridge and the Pioneer ultra-low mass tonearms

The question has been posed in this forum and elsewhere regarding the compatibility of the AT-VM95e with the Pioneer ultra-low mass polymer graphite straight pipe tonearms, models PL-2 through PL-9 and successor series, PL-930 et al. Candidly, I was skeptical of compatibility based on what I...
  5. beej

AT-VM95 specs

Just purchased an AT-VM95 for my granddaughter's PL-7 (she's running an older entry level AT at the moment). Tough to tell if it will be a good match or not. I know the older AT-95e is not. We'll see. That's not really the point of this post. I haven't purchased a new cart in more years than...
  6. beej

Shure V15 II Open Left Channel