Search results

1. hillaryj

What are my options for this restored SX-880?

Greeting all. I haven't been on this forum for ages. I had my SX-880 fully restored in June of 2017. Now I find out it cuts out at half volume. I took a video: What should I do? Any help is greatly appreciated. THANK YOU IN ADVANCE! Full story below: Not sure if I should name the...
  2. hillaryj

Don't know what it is, don't know what it's worth

The listing is for the furniture and the receiver, 8-track, and turntable just happen to be included. I am totally unfamiliar with Harman Kardon. THANKS!
  3. hillaryj

CT-F9191 Eating my tape!

The good: I am really excited to bring home my first vintage tape deck, a CT-F9191 that I got for free from a friend who wasn't using it. I'm still really pumped about it, especially after reading more online about the model. The bad: I have no experience with tape and instantly realized...
  4. hillaryj

What are these worth?

Bates Model 12s. Yes, this is a repost. The other got taken off. I guess I had some rule breaking comments in there. Sorry bout that. Not intentional. These are really large speakers and the flagship model of a company that was here in Minnesota (80s). Each tower has two active 12", 8...
  5. hillaryj

Why do my woofers pulse for "no reason"?

I'm sure there is a reason, but I don't know it. Only noticeable when playing vinyl with my Pioneer PL512 through my Sansui 4000 into AR 58b's. More obvious as the volume level is increased. I want to understand this.
  6. hillaryj

What should I offer a friend for these (if anything?)

The title says it all. AR 58b. My buddy had these and I told him I was interested. They need a refoam but I think that is all. He said they were working up until the foam split. Veneer is pretty good, one side's grill cloth has a little hole and a broken off grill peg (stuck in hole). That...
  7. hillaryj

Twin Cities Speaker Company?