Search results

1. Sakas

Phillips 312 pre-amp advice

Thank you all for the solid recommendation, just got it in the mail and love it! The XPS-1 really opened up the music and added depth (especially to the mid-range). Best buy I've made in a while.
  2. Sakas

Thanks, I’ll look into both of these! I’m new to selecting cartridges, what should I look for and how do they impact sound?
  3. Sakas

I do not have the headshell sled but is this what I need? https://www.ebay.com/itm/Philips-GP-200-Cartridge-Silver-with-Diamond-Turntable-Stylus-Vintage-NOS/273877407524?hash=item3fc45d9724:g:ZjMAAOSwcJhc2MWY
  4. Sakas

Checked the cartridge this morning and it’s actually the ADC K8E, I understand this is an entry level cart, does anyone have an upgrade that will be a good match for the 312?
  5. Sakas

Lots of love for the XPS-1. Just ordered one, looking forward to hooking it up!
  6. Sakas

Thanks for the tip, I'll look into those! Don't see anything on Amazon, is it only available from the manufacturer?
  7. Sakas

Hello AK'ers, Short version - Moved my Phillips 312 TT from the Pioneer SX-737 to my Yamaha RX-V481 receiver with a cheap rat shack pre-amp in between and now sounds terrible. Going to replace the pre- with something better and looking into replacing cart as well (currently inexpensive AT...
  8. Sakas

New here, love your thoughts on my setup!

Checking back in after a while, life got busy and had to devote energy elsewhere but things are calming down a bit again (hopefully). It's nice to come back to these threads and see the changes to the system as time has gone by - mostly assisted by great thrift store finds. Updated stats below...
  9. Sakas

Reference Series Generations explained??

I'm new to the forum here, so any guidance is much appreciated- thank you! I thought I had created a new post with an original title, but perhaps I'm misunderstanding...
  10. Sakas

For the Radio Shack fans . . .