Search results

1. DeFriend

AudioQuest Golden Gate Cables - Anyone Have Problems With Them?

Tin is an order of magnitude worse than copper and silver, and lead is even worse. Gold is a close third place after silver and copper.
  2. DeFriend

AudioQuest Golden Gate Cables - Anyone Have Problems With Them?

A very good crimp is basically synonymous with cold-welding, which allows a pure copper-to-copper junction, which conducts much better than a tin-lead solder sandwich.
  3. DeFriend

Do you have hobby -related regrets?

I just have a hard time when someone creates an unreadable sentence; it makes my eye twitch. It didn't help when the poster doubled-down on the mistake with an explanation that makes no sense; I'm all-in at this point. There is literally no place where a semicolon can fix this: "My degree is...
  4. DeFriend

SS Amps That Will Run 2 Ohms

loudnoises, we seem to agree. 2000>1800 (and 1800 is optimistic; 1500 is generally the most you'd want to pull from a 15A circuit) Read my other comment about needing 4000 watts bare minimum to get 2 channels of 1000w class-A. (even ignoring my comment to double to 8000W supply for some...
  5. DeFriend

Confused about an active crossover letting information above the low pass setting pass to my subs...

looks like you want a 48/dB slope. Or just set your low-pass knee frequency lower. I set my miniDSP for a 45 Hz low-pass to the subwoofer amp.
  6. DeFriend

Honestly, your hand is going to be forced to using high-end class D amplifiers, like Bel Canto or PS Audio Stellar amps.
  7. DeFriend

20A isn't even close to what you need. watts = volts x amperage. 1000 watts of class A into a single channel is going to draw over 2000 watts. 2000/110 is really close to 20 amps; you'd need each channel on at least its own 20 amp circuit, and you'll probably be tripping the breakers all the...
  8. DeFriend