Search results

1. Doug The Dog

Re-introduction

Hi everyone! This is my first time back on AK in 4 years! (Almost to the day), I originally joined in November of 2004 and was quite active in 70's vintage Pioneer, Kenwood, Yamaha and Sansui audio. I took a little break and dove in head first to another passion of mine. I'm restoring a 1973...
  2. Doug The Dog

How many speakers do you own?

OK... Let's see.... Pioneer HPM-100 (4 pair) KEF 104/2 (2 pair) JBL L36 Smaller Advents Boston Acoustics A70 Polk Audio Atrium 55 (2 pair) Polk Audio RC65i Polk Audio RC60i Polk Audio TC65i (center channel) Miller & Kriesel V2B Miller & Kriesel V3B That's 29 speakers! Dang!
  3. Doug The Dog

New to me Boston Acoustics A70's

Definitely a nice score! I think the A70's are one of the finest "low budget" speakers around! I got mine at a yard sale for $10.00 also! Had to refoam the woofers too! Keep them as my test speakers! The irony goes on!
  4. Doug The Dog

My Large Advents up And Running!!!!

Nice job! You'll enjoy them!
  5. Doug The Dog

KEF 104/2 Tweeter replacement

The coils are shot. Oh well. I read that the Morel MDT29 will work as a replacement as well as Tubed recommendation for Audix tweets. I will contemplate that but knowing how anal I am I think I'll wait for a pair on ePay. This will be a back up pair any way as I aready have a set of 104/2s on my...
  6. Doug The Dog

Good call! The voice coils actually look OK but the ferrofluid is hard and sticky. What should I use to remove it and should I re-assemble the tweeter dry?
  7. Doug The Dog

Hi all! long time no posts! I recently had a pair of KEF 104/2 speakers given to me and they are in good condition except the tweeters are blown. The T33 tweeter from KEF is discontinued. Anyone have any replacement stories to share???
  8. Doug The Dog

Impressive SX-1250

If I had the extra money right now I'd buy it! That's without a doubt one of the nicest restoration/restomods I've ever seen!
  9. Doug The Dog