Search results

1. J

Dumpster Save, allmost done.

Well, then I'll live up to your expectations by leaving this forum. I write a lot of posts in here that have nothing to do with anything I do for a living. I do it because I enjoy helping other people. A number of other members here have suggested a number of my posts be "stickied". A large...
  2. J

The output section is straightforward other than where the U/L taps are in the OPTS. It's not the output section, it's the front end that is so different. You did not make my head explode - I just wanted to caution you that what you were thinking of wasn't a good idea - and that I had a lot...
  3. J

HT delay for my Fisher

Hi Alex, Thanks for clarifying what your board is all about. Much appreciated. However the cathode stripping phenomenon plain and simple does NOT occur "IMHO" at typical audio amp voltages. Here's a very good explanation of why - and pay careful attention to the author's remarks about tube...
  4. J

Thank you for the very kind words. I sincerely appreciate them. :yes:
  5. J

HT delay for my Fisher

Depending on where it was installed it can make a difference. Remember - if you fire up the amp when the power supply caps are fully discharged those caps are in essence a dead short to ground for a very short time (until they begin to build a charge). If the caps are fully discharged then...
  6. J

Eureka moment on a Harman Kardon A300

Tom, Nice work! I've seen a few where solder strips riveted to the chassis had poor grounds too. Corrosion over the years snuck in. Watch for that as well - IIRC the last one I had left the bus bar with a high resistance ground that you could cure (temporarily) by wiggling the bus wire...
  7. J