Search results

1. premiumplus

Radio Shack Optimus 7 Speakers..

I've owned four of these great speakers since 1973, and I blew the original tweeters in the first year I owned them...I just replaced them with a good quality tweeter that Radio Shack carried at the time and they've been fine ever since. I'd just suggest getting a nice 8 ohm replacement tweeter...
  2. premiumplus

Hey Steve, I'm in Mid-Michigan too. I've had 4 Optimus 7 speakers since 1973. I used to manage a Radio Shack out in So. Calif. and we were surprised and disappointed when they discontinued these great speakers. They sound better today than many very expensive speakers do. I blew and replaced my...
  3. premiumplus

Hey woofercooker, (and all Opt.7 lovers), I've been rocking two pair of Optimus 7 speakers since the 1970s when I managed a RS store out in So. Calif. and they're right up there with the best. My main system now is bi amped Dahlquist DQ10's with a pair of Dahlquist subwoofers, which sounds...
  4. premiumplus

VERY unusual console found

Does anyone have an idea of how many of those beauties were made? I wonder how many survive today. It's gloriously attractive and I want one. It's just too cool.
  5. premiumplus

Phase Linear 1000 Upgrade site

I recapped my PL1000 series I and got great results. Been contemplating doing the mods referred to above...maybe this winter when the snow flies.
  6. premiumplus

What do I need to run 6 dahlquist dq-10's

Yes, a re-foam of the woofers was the first thing I did to mine. They sounded great for the first hour or so then one of the woofers surrounds let loose and to hear the sound you'd think the speaker was shot. Refoamed them, then built the WOPL amplifiers and biamped the system. It's just...
  7. premiumplus