Search results

1. drabina

Restoring my father's Epicure 20+ & Luxman L-480 (Help Needed)

I would recommend contacting Rick Cobb for speaker refoam kits. I have used his kits (foams and glue) multiple times with great results. Only once, he didn't have what I needed and I went with another company. The glue was so terrible that I almost destroyed the speakers. My 2 cents.
  2. drabina

What to Look For/Assess in a Used DAC?

I am not an expert on testing or DACs but head over to ASR forum and look for review of the Schiit Bifrost DAC. This will tell you how it measures and what to expect in terms of sound quality. As to testing an used equipment, have it connected and play music you are familiar with. Those DACs do...
  3. drabina

Question about music from TV thru optical to a DAC/stereo

I do think that external DAC connected to the stereo will have better sound than TV speakers. I just do not need any fancy studio equipment. :-) I decided to get Schiit Modi DAC from their website.
  4. drabina

Dedicated DAP vs phone with DAC dongle

Thanks. I bought one of those super cheap USB-C to headphone adapters. Still in transit so can't test but if it works, it should be fine for my low-fi testing needs.
  5. drabina

Dedicated DAP vs phone with DAC dongle

Once in a while, I need to test some audio equipment. Nothing crazy. Just to make sure all channels play, tone controls work, etc. I used to use the headphone out from phone to RCA for this but my recent phone doesn't have headphone port. I was thinking of getting one of those budget mp3 players...
  6. drabina

Thanks. Off to look for a DAC now.
  7. drabina

I have a "smart" TV (Roku) with Plex installed. Plex pulls my media from a NAS box. For regular movie watching, I just listen to the sound via TV speakers. If I were to install a DAC between the TV and my stereo, is there already some sort of loss of quality since the sound travels thru the TV...
  8. drabina

Question about preamp input ground