Search results

1. Dr. Mordo

Current state of stylii and carts

All this talk about AT reminded me I have a few carts I pulled from junker TTs stored away that I haven't thought about for a decade. So now the question becomes should I stick with the sure or move to one of the other carts? For me the goal is clean, accurate reproduction with as little...
  2. Dr. Mordo

I appreciate the recommendations so far! Manfred, I am FAR from an expert on stylii characteristics. When I had the N97xE, I felt like it had more crisp treble response and a bit less surface noise. That's what I want, I'm open to suggestions! BTW my current turntable is a Pioneer PL-516...
  3. Dr. Mordo

Tell me about EPI speakers

I have a bunch of pretty good 70s and 80s speakers, but my favs are my EPIs. I love the simple genius of their 2 way designs. I have a set of 200Cs in my living room, and they are just great. Deep on the bottom, smooth but not lacking in the high end, I love them. I have a set of 100s hooked...
  4. Dr. Mordo

I've used a Shure M91E cart for 20 years or so. 10 years ago I got a N97xE for it for $60 that sounded great, but was unfortunately destroyed by my infant. I'd like to get another hyperelliptical stylus, but man how things have changed! Jico SAS $223 Bliss 761-DHE $113 (and mixed reviews)...
  5. Dr. Mordo

Crude EPI-100 isobaric speakers - how do they work ?

Would the EPI-100 woofers reproduce that type bass in a sealed box ? No, the passive resonator or a port is critical in order to hit those lows. I recently fired my EPI 200Cs back up after a 3 years break, and I'm more in love with them than ever. They are just amazing for a 2 way speaker...
  6. Dr. Mordo

Good 4way speaker you can recomend?

Yeah, I was gonna recommend HPMs. Any of the 4 ways should be pretty damn good. That said, I'm headed the opposite way - why use four drivers when two will do the job?
  7. Dr. Mordo

Hacked up HPM 1500's