Search results

1. cgutz

Head shell for Hitachi HT60S - compatibility

I have a lot of experience with Japanese "S" arm and SME style head shells. I was recently given an Hitachi HT60S seems surprisingly nice using an OM10 cartridge. It is replacing a Kenwood that I can't seem to get control of the speed on. I am looking for additional head shells to try the...
  2. cgutz

Stereo amplifier, stereo input, only one speaker

I have seen mixed signals on an issue, but can't find specific answers to my situation. We are connecting a Alesis QS8.1 keyboard to a vintage solid state MCS Stereo Receiver. The receiver is not being used with any other inputs. However, we are using only one 8 ohm vintage MCS speaker as...
  3. cgutz

Dream college system game...what would yours have been?

This is a game for those who were young adults between 1970 and 1980. You are going to the local store to buy your first real stereo. (We used to play this in person in Fridays...go to the store, see what we could get for our money). The rules: - all equipment had to have been current market...
  4. cgutz

Making phono capacitance plugs

Forgive me if there is a thread on this, but even with google I can seem to find a schematic or photo of the proper way to connect capacitors when making a capacitance plug out of an rca male jack. Do you solder the capacitor from the center pin to ground to make the plug? My intent is to use...
  5. cgutz

Record storage at Sams Club

$10 collapsable crates at Sams Club. Works great.
  6. cgutz

Classical record collection score

I work with staff at the Natiinal Music Museum on a regular basis (http://orgs.usd.edu/nmm). When they found out I play vinyl they gave me 3 crates of classical music they were culling. So far all 5 I have played are in absolute pristine condition. Quietest records I have ever heard. I know...
  7. cgutz

reducing signal on line out