Search results

1. kevzep

The OFFICIAL MSM5540RS/M5540 Gx700 40pin IC Thread! NUDIES

I've had to do that on a few GX700 series receivers, its a major PIA but totally worth the effort...
  2. kevzep

G22000 enough for AR9s?

Similar type circuits, yes of course the boards are different, but again the amplifier circuits are similar.... I've owned a G22000, two G9000's and worked on many more.....I've found this through experience with these units on my bench...
  3. kevzep

G22000 enough for AR9s?

They most certainly do have the same issue, and the G8000......
  4. kevzep

G22000 enough for AR9s?

If you fit the 4th pair of output transistors, you'll drive those speakers no problem at all...
  5. kevzep

Another AU-999 getting restored and modded

I run those caps without changing anything but the bridge rec, just got for it.....don't worry about it..
  6. kevzep

20 Years

I'm a newbie, I think it was 2011 or thereabouts I joined, I was searching for information on a hacked up G7700, which I got going and still have to this day.....crazy to think that was 13 years ago..... One of the best communities around on the interweb, I stay in the Sansui and McIntosh...
  7. kevzep

There are other instances where there can be high DC voltage on the outputs, not just blown op transistors.... Funny the Sansui Eight has the same protection and I never see people deleting them, it seems its always a hot discussion topic for 999's for some reason.... I am at this moment doing...
  8. kevzep

Remember, deleting the DC protection now means you can end up with full rail voltage on the speaker outputs under certain failure conditions.
  9. kevzep

You're into the area of diminishing returns here, 10,000µF is more than enough, in fact a lot of the time I used 6800µF .....
  10. kevzep

G9000 R-Ch is fried- now what?