Search results

1. KevinCorr

Shopping for a cheap component dac

I am giving a friend a gift of a Marantz 8004 integrated amp and speakers. I want to add a cheap dac. I have no experience with them though. He has no hifi but a smart phone and a junk boom box that he wires the phone to, and streams with no dac. Since he has no cds or albums I want to add a...
  2. KevinCorr

Step down transformer choosing size.

How much capacity would I need to use a typical 120 volt integrated amp in a 240 volt country? ACUPWR has them from 100 watts to 2000 watts.
  3. KevinCorr

Remotes not working.

I have 2 good integrated amps that have non functional remotes. Is there something that I can look at? I know nothing of the magic inner world of electronics. The cost would be too high to mail them to a service shop. Marantz 8004 HK a giant that weighs a ton. I moved them to rooms where I...
  4. KevinCorr

PS Audio Sprout w/speakers vs Wireless speakers, eg LSX

We have a cabin at relatives place far away from home. I want to set up a compact music system mostly streaming (Tidal). Probably add a cd transport. These pieces are examples, not sure choices. I am more undecided about the type of system that would be better. I will leave it there but want...
  5. KevinCorr

Need headphone apm w/remote for home system.

No computer, dac involved. Just an old fashioned integrated amp etc.I love my amp or would replace it because it has no headphone port, nor does the cdp. I have a good Heed canamp headphone amp that I use with a long cable and I am getting tired of getting up and going over to adjust the...
  6. KevinCorr

The Sound of the Wood Turntables out of business.

Fans of Vinyl Nirvana and classic AR tables will know Eric J. Whitacre and his beautiful hand made tables. After years of rebuilding and refinishing Ar tables Eric began building tables in their style. I got one and talked to Eric on the phone too. Now his website is gone. I dont' find any...
  7. KevinCorr