pioneer sx-980

1. C

SX-980 Restoration

I purchased an SX-980 online recently that needed some work. On first blush it was missing 4 of the toggle switch knobs, one of the lights was out, the phono indicator light was out, the power cord was frayed, and the sound in the left channel was weak. Cosmetically it is fair with the face...
  2. M

Thiel 3.5 and Pioneer SX-980

Hello! I am new to the AK community, and was hoping I could get some insight regarding a speaker/amplifier pairing. I just purchased a beautiful Thiel CS3.5 pair, and I currently own a Pioneer SX-980. 1) Can I reasonably power the 3.5’s with the Pioneer SX-980? 2) I’ve read that Thiel...
  3. Brivan

Pioneer SX-980 with Erratic DC Offset

I've have a Pioneer SX-980 with erratic DC offset on both channels. I'm able to adjust it so it "centers" around 0v, but it will vary maybe 300mV in either direction. It seems to calm down a little after warm-up, but is still very unstable and might vary as much as 50mV in either direction...
  4. Brivan

Pioneer SX-980 Output Transistor Replacement

I recently acquired a Pioneer SX-980 that had a blown main fuse. It turned out the reason for this was two partially-shorted output transistors. One each of the 2SB706 and 2SD746 transistors were bad. I no longer recall where these were physically mounted, but I believe they were both on the...
  5. daveyh

Pioneer SX-980 very low buzz through both speakers - Fixed!

I have a Pioneer SX-980 stereo receiver that has a very low buzz through both speakers and it is coming from the receiver not the speakers. Even if the volume is turned all the way down it is still there. I have rebuilt the power supply and protection board but it is still there. I have even...
  6. Brivan

Pioneer SX 980 with Uneven +65 & -65 Power Supply