sa-8800

1. Bob123456

Pioneer SA-8800 - high voltage readings

Hello, newbie here hoping for some advice. I was recently given an SA-8800 in not-great-condition to refurb and sell on behalf of an elderly relative. I've got a little experience with electrical repairs and I guess I've had some luck in the past, but I have limited equipment (and space) to work...
  2. MAG_1944

SA-8800 Hum problem

Hi Everyone I've recently begun to use a pair of headphones with my amp for late night listening, I've noticed a low level hum which doesn't seem to change with volume. Checks I've done so far, checking between all 4 inputs, no change. Toggling loudness, muting, tone, high and low filters, no...
  3. alexhastings

SA-8800 protection mode help

Hi! I'm trying to get my SA-8800 working - it's stuck in protection mode and I'm at a loss. I've replaced all the components on the GWH-128 board that are marked with a /!\ on the schematic (been meaning to do that amnyways - when this amp was working it had issues with the L channel cutting...
  4. QSilver

SA-8800 Phono stage problems

When I connect the SA-8800 up to my turntable it plays just fine, until you want to crank up the volume. If the volume gets past the 1W mark, sometimes the 10W mark, I suddenly get a massive resonant hum. I haven't checked but it sounds like it would be around the 100-200Hz area. Reducing the...
  5. EvanF

Pioneer SA-8800 with 60hz hum on the power amp section

Buzz on power amp out and pre in, jumpered together (made sure the pre and amp grounds are well connected)and the buzz is bad. Power amp buzz is the main issue, preamp buzz isn't that big. Recapped everything on the power supply and power amplifier board with Panasonics (B+ filters are Kemet...
  6. EvanF

SA-8800 60hz buzz