1030 Pwer Amp adjustments

Keith Baran

Hello all, especially any Marantz guru's
I just finished re-capping a 1030 that I bought with one channel out. This is my first attempt at refurbishing an amp. It now turns on and sounds fantastic out of both channels.
I wanted to perform the settings described in the service menu, the first to set the bias on the amp board.
The service manual states I should have 7.5mv across R747 & 748. I only have .8mv across R748 and 51.7mv across R747. I haven't adjusted anything because something tells me there are problems.
Any input would be appreciated.
Keith

Hmm, I would try to adjust it to spec before deciding there is a big problem.
Be sure to use micro clips on your meter and always have the power off when connecting and disconnecting.

Power off.
Volume control all the way down (CCW)
Connect your meter, set to read DC milliVolts to J713 and J717.
Power on
Wait a minute or two for the reading to stabilize
Set R723 for 15mVDC (polarity is NOT important).
Power off.
Connect your meter, set to read DC milliVolts to J714 and J718.
Power on
Set R724 for 15mVDC (polarity is NOT important).
Power off.

The reason we are setting for 15mV instead of 7.5mV is that we are measuring across both emitter resistor in each channel instead of just one. Ohm's Law dictates twice the voltage across twice the resistance for the same idle current.
Let us know how it goes.

Tom

Hi Tom
Thanks for the test point info, way easier than getting micro grabbers on the resistor legs, but after 2.5 min of warm up across J713/J717 I'm getting 133.0 mv and is still rising. Across J714/J718 3.0 mv and rising. any ideas why? I'm a service engineer, working with hydraulics and lasers. I can mask a problem by over adjusting the laser, but nothing works the way it should. Do you think I should try adjusting the 133.0 mv down to 15mv or should I be checking other things? I am very ignorant when it comes to these amps, early stages of learning.
Thanks again
Keith