15w 288-8k driver with 60w?

bryans12v

Marantz / Altec Junkie
I apologize for such a stupid question but I have recently come across a pair of Altec 288-8kvcompression drivers and Manta ray horns. These drivers have only a 15w power handling capability.

I'd really like to be able to drive these with my Dynaco mkiii's is 60w too much for them? I know if they were low freq woofers this would not be much of a problem but I'm very new to compression drivers and don't want to harm them.

For what it's worth, I listen at moderately low listeling levels for the most part.

The power handling changes with the xover frequency. The higher the xover, the higher the power handling.
Also 15-20 watts on a really sensitive driver is pretty damn loud. I bet you never put that much power to them. Probably 1-2 watts at most.

What midbass cabs do you plan to use these with?

If you listen at moderately low levels your not going to hurt them. At 15W your going to be begging for mercy. What are you using for a crossover? Don't feed them a full range signal, the high energy LF may burn up the voice coils.

Thanks guys! I'm still searching for a decent crossover. I've spent months reading about the Ashley and beringers and still have not pulled the trigger. I currently have a really clean pair of Valencias 846Bs and the initial plan was to biamp them with an active crossover. Now that I have the horns I may be looking to tramp and have the 806-8as in the cabinet working high fq as the 288s cutoff at 15k.

I really like the idea of being able to adjust on the fly with those crossovers and may jump on a pair of Ashleys. I may add a pair of bass cabs next to biamp with the 288/horns and have the Valencias to the outsides of them.

At 8 watts in you'll be approaching 120db. They will clearly demonstrate the noise floor of any amplifier you connect them to as well as the noise floor of your upstream equipment.