1953 Chevy 3100 3 Window Project

djwhy60

Rat Shack Groupie!
Subscriber
Had some issues with turn signals a while back...some asked for pics of the project. Well here she is. I am laid off from the oil field and my brother in law needed a private mechanic to work on this and a few other toys he owns. I am about half way done with this one. It has a 307 (read boat anchor!) installed. Trying to get him to put a 383 stroker in it. Almost to that point.....LOL.

index.php

Who did the body work? Really straight! Good job. I had a 63 model almost the same color. Mine was so rusted out I gave up.

Actually no body work done..yet. There are no dents/dings in the whole thing...but usual rot in cab corners needs to be done..and driver floor is a half assed patch job.

Wow, definitely worth the effort, solid bodies of that era are hard to find. I am not a body man, floor pans look like one of the hardest jobs to me, if I can't bolt it on, I hire a shop.

I am a sheet metal guy by trade....except on airplanes! With the available parts and pieces out there it isn't too bad.

It helps to do it for a living. I am everything else but body work. It is hard to find a good body and paint shop now a days. At least in my area.

Great looking old truck. Hopefully he goes for the engine swap. The 307 isn't that much faster than the stovebolt that was in it. :D