2 x Bryston 3B NRB or 1 x 4B NPB should I Bi amp or single amp

PK Vintage

Hello,
I have 2 3B's and a 4B all are NRB. My Wharfedale Mach 9's are bi-ampable. I am not interested in loudness just detail. Should I bi amp with the 2 3B's or go with the single 4B.

My pre amp is an SAE 2900 parametric equalizer/pre amp with 2 mains.

oh...and I am new to the hobby.

Thanks

Bi-amping means that you are bypassing the passive cross over in the speakers and are using an electronic cross over to drive your amps to replace the passive which can rob the speakers of power from a single amp. I f you are talking about bi wiring when you run two lines from amps to separate sections of the speakers using the built in speaker crossovers you won't gain a thing. The problem with Bi-amping is your speakers need to be calibrated in order to maintain the proper relationship or balance between drivers. Low and High. Its not easy, you will need a dependable sound level meter and test signal set at the crossover frequency.

Hmm. We'll I run one amp to the highs and mids and one amp to the low side using the modified existing covers to allow this. This is not bi amping? And I might as well just run one amp?
So I am clear this is what your saying.

Hmm. We'll I run one amp to the highs and mids and one amp to the low side using the modified existing covers to allow this. This is not bi amping? And I might as well just run one amp?
So I am clear this is what your saying.

Twiiii is talking about biamplification where there are no crossovers inside the speakers. The crossovers (low pass filters and high pass filters) are put before the amplifiers to limit the range each amplifier has to amplify.

If the modification to your speakers was just to split the existing speaker crossover into separate low and mid/high inputs then, while an interesting read, about 99% of the article linked by bhunter does not apply to your situation.