2230 Plays, but only at one volume

burningskulls

Hey all-

I picked up a 2230 from a friend for free that seems to have a lot of issues and I am wondering where the first place to start is. I haven't done much yet and this is my first time tinkering with something. I am very familiar with forums and am using the search feature for many things so if I just need to do a search for one of my questions let me know.

Basically the thing plays, but only on the main in and only at one volume (which regrettably is quite loud). The volume knob has no effect on one speaker but causes the other to crackle sometimes. All other knobs and the other inputs do nothing.

I already purchased some deoxit on PE and am waiting for that to arrive. With so many things wrong, does this thing need to go into a shop or is that something that a good cleaning could fix.

Currently I'd really just like to get the volume knob fixed as this is just a second receiver for my den and won't be having any crazy demands put on it.

Thanks for any input.
Micah

Welcome to AK burningskulls. It sounds to me like all you have is a dirty volume pot and a dirty selector switch. You'r might as welll give them all a dexoit bath just to be sure though. Also, which deoxit did you buy? For pots you want to use faderlube (which is also made by caig).

I think that once you clean out the controls, you might be pleasently surprised at the condition of your receiver.:yes:

Run an rca patch cable between the pre out and main in. There are supposed to be jumpers there. The connection you are using is for a pre-amp that would have its own volume control. Sounds like it is working fine unless the pre-amp does not work.

Rob