2230 recapped but right channel struggles when cold

dan001

Hi All, I recently recapped my 2230, all boards, and I thought it went well. Two problems that I previously had appear to have been fixed. The stereo light now stays on when it should, and the FM tuner now stays tuned to the selected station instead of drifting and needing re-tuning. However, I've since encountered a new problem. The right channel doesn't play properly when I first turn the unit on. It sounds like a poor connection where sound is distorted and not flowing freely. After the amp plays for 10min or so the problem goes away and it can play fine for hours. I know it's beyond the pre-out and main-in jacks because the preamp is fine when connected to my Bryston amp.

I'm no engineer and so at a loss as to what components on the amp board might be failing. Is the problem I described consistent with an output transistor problem? Should I consider changing other components? Any ideas?

Initially I was worried about what I put in for C751, but I would expect both channels to act up if that were the case. I pulled 0.47uf out of here, but thought I read somewhere it should be using 1uf film type. Not sure I got the right part. Is that orange film cap 1 or 0.1uf?

Thanks

IMG_1922.jpg

Welcome to AK!

Recheck you solder joints for a cold one.

Barney

Thanks Barney, yes, I should have checked that first. It didn't occur to me as the problem started about a week after the recap was completed, and I'm still busy patting myself on the back for not blowing the unit up.

The cap in the picture is 1.0uF. The 105 translates to 1:0:00000 pF or 1,000,000pF which equates to 1000nF or just 1uF. (Nerd moment complete!)

I've had these be intermittently noisy even as new parts so try changing it out if you have a spare or swap it with the other channel to see if it's at fault.