2245 & 2250B: Different sound quality left vs. right ouput. Recap time?

jd3rdcoast

AK Subscriber
Subscriber
Hi all;
Long time member and avid reader. I have two recently acquired receivers 2245 & 2250B. Have replaced lights as needed, set Voltage, DC Offset and Idle-current respectfully. I notice that both units have slightly different left vs. right sounding outputs to HD77 speakers. 2245: L channel sounds better. 2250B: R Channel sounds better. Curious if this is an indication that some other adjustments are needed or if this is indicative of a capacitor issue? Which ones? Power Supply? Amps? Outputs? Not a major difference, but enough when switching balance between left and right that I notice it and would like to attempt a remedy. I am capable of the repairs and upgrades as needed (except FM/AM tuning). Would like to hear some thoughts from this esteemed group I have always relied on as my go to source. Thanks;

I'm not an expert, and I can't say if recapping would fix your problem or not, but I have recapped several 2245's and they always sound much better after doing it. At minimum, I would recap the power supply, tone board and power amps and replace the big filter caps (Nichicon Gold Tune 10,000 uF 80V caps are a great drop in here). It's possible your problem lies in a semiconductor somewhere, but I'll bet recapping those areas would eliminate your problem.
Steve

I'm wondering if this could be a speaker or source issue. Have you tries swapping them left to right?

Tom

I'm not an expert, and I can't say if recapping would fix your problem or not, but I have recapped several 2245's and they always sound much better after doing it. At minimum, I would recap the power supply, tone board and power amps and replace the big filter caps (Nichicon Gold Tune 10,000 uF 80V caps are a great drop in here). It's possible your problem lies in a semiconductor somewhere, but I'll bet recapping those areas would eliminate your problem.
Steve