2270 Phono problems

jmathers

I have a 2270 that needs help. BOTH phono inputs are not working - one completely, the other just one channel is dead and then only sometimes. I tried to get in there and look around - in fact I resoldered one wire on one of the RCA inputs that looked to be the culprit but to no avail - the right channel on that phono input is still intermittent and then sometimes dead. I Caig-ed the crap out of the RCAs too.

My question is: should I continue to pursue working on this beast myself (I have limited experience with electronics but have built my own speakers and customized a Bottlehead Foreplay) or should I find a qualified tech? I don't have the schematic.

I suppose a related question would be: Is there a tech in Michigan that frequents this forum? I'd rather not ship this thing off...but if I have to I will.

I love the receiver. It sounds absolutely fantastic.

Any help much appreciated.....

Jeff

Look at the phono amp board really carefully if you are feeling adventurous. A service manual wouldn't hurt either...it can be done...

Without a turntable connected, turn the volume up a little on the 2270. Put your finger on the Phono RCA jack. Hear a buzz? This test will eliminate the TT and its wiring.

Ron

"Without a turntable connected, turn the volume up a little on the 2270. Put your finger on the Phono RCA jack. Hear a buzz? This test will eliminate the TT and its wiring."

What he means is: touch the center of the RCA jack with a finger from the back side. It should buzz or hum. If you can't get to it, just stick the end of a paperclip inside from the front and wiggle it around until you hear a buzz. If it does buzz, the phono section is probably good and it's likely the connector that is oxidised or very loose.
DH

Well, it's definitely not the turntable - hooked that up to another receiver and it's good to go.