5050 buzzing problem

nh36000

Too many notes!!!
I have a random and intermittent buzzing from the take up reel motor when I first turn on the deck. It takes about five minutes to stop but it finally does.

I can tap around, with the butt end of a screw driver, on anything inside to no remedy. I have an idea that it's an electronic problem.

Might that be a bad electrical connection or something? Any help to fix that, please.

I've been hearing that for better than six months. I don't know what's doing that.

Lu.

4-2-7;

Yeah, the capstan motor is well oiled.

And no, I can take digital photos but not video. I'll do my best to relate anything, though.

And thanks for the interest, glad you wrote in.

Lu.

Wait, wait, wait!

I just remembered, there is a camera on the laptop, here. 'Don't know how good the recording will be but, I'll give it a shot.

I just got done reading your Westwood One thread. Maybe I can link a YT video.

Lu.

All, I'm bringing this one to the top, again;

My not knowing just what to do, and all the mention of how clean 5050s are to be kept, I dropped the amp board and cleaned all the connectors. It helped but didn't solve the issue.

This morning I dropped the transport board and cleaned up the front switches. The micros should be OK.

I've got an early model, a -2HD. These weren't sold to the consumer but to studios and record makers. I can imagine that a problem would prompt a call to a repair tech for service. That guy would probably have all he needed.

The owners manual I have, does not have a capstan motor control board schematic to it. Nor, a parts list. I open up an SM for a -Blll, on HiFi Engine, for that.