1. Time for some upgrades in server hardware and software to enhance security and take AK to the next level. Please contribute what you can to sales@audiokarma.org at PayPal.com - Thanks from the AK Team
    Dismiss Notice

60's stereo console tube amp removal

Discussion in 'Tube Audio' started by skywachr, Jun 13, 2018.

1. skywachr

skywachr New Member

First off I am a complete novice in the area all things tubular but consider myself quite knowledgeable in the area of vintage solid-state audio gear. I do not however get into doing my own re-capping etc.

I have come across a GE console stereo model Abbington from the early 60's in perfect working order in a thrift store. The tuner emits a stereo FM signal with very pleasing stereo tones given the limited 8" speaker that is in the unit. The cost of the unit is $38.

I am very interested in making this my first tube project. I am not knowledgeable enough to understand whether there is a preamp integrated into the tuner electronics as it seems to be on board in one area of the console with the amp as a separate unit.

Is this a viable project? Will I be able to use any of my solid-state preamps feeding into the tube amp? Would it be wiser to use the preamp/tuner section as part of this whole set up? I really don't know what I'm stepping into here. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I am going to attempt to attach a photo of the simplified schematic which was stapled to the bottom of the unit to this posting which will tell you exactly which tubes are part of all of this.

Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

Please register to disable this ad.

2. FlaCharlie

FlaCharlie Well-Known Member