'62 Magnavox console sound problem

schmiddj

I'm a newbie trying to refurb an old Magnavox and it has a weird issue. To my non-audiophile ears this thing sounds absolutely gorgeous... for about 20 minutes. After 20 min or so, the sound starts to degrade noticeably in both channels, eventually cutting out completely in one channel and then sounding horrible in the other. Turn the thing off, wait 20 min, and it's fine again.

Seems like an obvious heat issue... but what to do? As far as I know, the thing has never been re-capped and it has its original tubes, so anything is on the table. But I thought tubes and caps were an overall sound quality issue, not this weird delayed timing issue.

Any ideas?

Attachments

• IMG_0618.jpg
    IMG_0618.jpg
    82.5 KB · Views: 111
No wonder, it's upside down, the heat can't dissipate.:D Are you getting any redplating on the tall output tubes. Maybe the rectifier as well. Hey, welcome to AK.:thmbsp: BTW, on stuff like this, once you know it plays, you could go ahead and do the refurbish. Nine out of ten times, that will cure your issue. You gotta do it anyhow.

I'm going with leaky coupling caps. Usually when they get warm, they tend to leak more and what you're hearing is probably the tubes becoming saturated. The plates would be glowing red if this is the case. At this one's age, some new caps would be a good idea just for safety and longevity.

Also possible a resistor is going flukey from heat and changing value.

Hiya,

I would start by replacing the main filter cap (Tall Silver Can) as it sounds like B+ is going south after the cap warms up a bit and then shorts out.

Then move on to the coupling caps.

Frannie

Hiya,

I would start by replacing the main filter cap (Tall Silver Can) as it sounds like B+ is going south after the cap warms up a bit and then shorts out.

Then move on to the coupling caps.

Frannie