A $310 Yamaha-Rega System - looking for advice

bikesontop

The speakers are Cambridge Audio Henry Kloss Towers that I essentially dug out of the trash. They have some nasty scratches on the top of the cabinets and the grills have seen the wrath of a plucky feline, but they were thrown out because one of the plastic holders for the binding posts was broken and shorting out the system. I've replaced that and they are working fine.

I bought the Rega Planar 2 on Craigslist for a whole $60. I've been using as I bought it for the past two years. It's in great shape and I'm told that it is from the 70's...but I have no idea.

For a number of years, I was using a Harman Kardon twip power amp, which from my research, seems to be of similar vintage to the turntable. However, it has been recently replaced by this Yamaha AX-900U which I found CL for $250 after a little haggling. This was a big step up, since I felt like the HK was never really able to push the big towers very well and always sounded a bit thin.

I also have a vintage discwasher that I got from my parents years ago, with the directional fibers.

It's not terribly fancy, but I feel like for what I paid for the setup, it sounds pretty darn good. However, part of me thinks that it might be time to start tweaking the setup. I've never done anything with cartridge alignment, tonearm pressure, or other setup. I plan on starting there. I just ordered a bubble level, and tonearm scale. What are my next steps from there? Does anyone know anything about this tonearm? Is it original? Is there anything I should know about setting it up? I've spent a lot of time listening, am very handy, but have been reluctant to mess with the setup for fear of making it worse.

Attachments

• IMG_20170924_112452.jpg
    IMG_20170924_112452.jpg
    63.6 KB · Views: 88
  • IMG_20170924_112506.jpg
    IMG_20170924_112506.jpg
    36.7 KB · Views: 84
  • IMG_20170924_112517.jpg
    IMG_20170924_112517.jpg
    65.1 KB · Views: 87