A Pair of Nice Revox Decks

James Wright

I'm just getting started on this forum, but I've already seen some helpful ideas regarding the Revox R2R decks. I have been using these decks since 1995 when my old Teac 4010s gave up the ghost. I will be upgrading these decks when it doesn't get in the way of my fishing outings. You will notice the dedicated dbx units under each deck that I use for most recording from digital sources like CD and MiniDisc.

I saw a helpful post on this forum for a solution to and end of tape sensor problem that I will try soon. These are not my first Revox decks. I had a G-36 4 track back in the late 60s that did well for its age.
RevoxA-77dbx224.jpg RevoxB-77dbx228.jpg

Welcome!

Very cool. I never see, or have ever found, anything Revox. Very nice!

Welcome!

Very cool. I never see, or have ever found, anything Revox. Very nice!
Thanks for the welcome.

The Revox decks were made in Germany and Switzerland by Willi Studer Co. They specialized in studio high end recorders. Radio stations here in the US had many of them as well. The Revox line was aimed at audiophiles and semi-pro users. They are robust and capable decks that have lasted. They are more common in Europe where they were made, but no new ones have been made since 1998. They also made Amps, Tuners, Cassette decks, Linear Turntables, Speakers that sell for crazy prices these days.