A quick review of five speakers $250-$500

rxonmymind

Lately I've been looking for some "classy" looking speakers that would mesh decently with a small bedroom. Ours namely. I reached out to several members here & they were kind enough to respond at least. Well, I decided to have my feet do the walking and visited couple big box stereo shops. Looking to stay within the $500 range & perhaps justify a smidgen more if it was especially good this is what I had available.
I'm not a professional audiophile just your average active listener. So in broads strokes this is what I found.
Listened to Energy connoisseur CB20, Deftech studio monitor 55/45, Polk audio Tsx 110B and Polks bigger brother tsx 220b. While the Energies were excellent speakers for steel guitars, cymbals and other metallic instruments and even horns, on bass ironically it put out the most of this round up BUT sounded "metallic" or flat. Sigh. I'd equate them to Klipsch type sound.
The Deftech on the other hand displayed smoother highs than the Energies which I didn't think possible for aluminum tweets but lacked bass in comparison to the Energies or Polks. Btw all these speakers were handicapped the same way only allowing 3" from the wall yet both powered by some monster black funeral mortician type receivers. (In fact EVERYTHING in that room was black. Receivers, speakers, chairs etc. Really depressing room.)
Anyway, it would have been a tight race between the Polks 110B & Deftech. Also, it's funny to note that the Polks bigger model 220b was beaten soundly in the bass department by it's little brother the 110b. Even the sales guy was astonished. Checking the connections it was just the speaker that lacked bass output. Odd. The bass in the 220b practically disappeared to a modest "tap tap" sound.